You cite in your bio that your first major step forward was when you read your fan novelization of Short Circuit. What was it that first hooked you about adapting other media to written word?

In addition to writing for the Elite: Dangerous book series, your day job is as a mechanical engineer, and you cite having a “religious” passion for V8 cars. What is it about machines and engineering that inspires your fiction?

How was the experience of writing official fiction in the Elite: Dangerous universe? Did Frontier Developments let you go wild with the story or was there a specific story they wanted you to tell?

Along with your book writing, you are currently part of the team for The Seed, the latest project from the team behind the Stalker mod MISERY. How has the transition been from a single linear story to the more branching style of Visual Novels?

Sometimes rules changed after they were made – that’s the life of making computer games – but I had to keep up with this and integrate this into my novel to make sure it stayed a true canon story, while allowing for fictional license. A lot of questions went back and forth but my questions were answered as best as they could be, given the parallel development.The novel went through its edits, my editor had her way with it, then it went to Frontier Developments for approval. There was around 50 minor details that they wanted changed and then it was done and dusted. It was very interesting, working in someone else’s sandbox, but an experience I’d love to do again.

The character might visit the same place but from different directions with different goals, with different people. It’s fun creating a landscape then going back and checking it out again from a different angle. It also keeps you on your toes making sure you keep it consistent. The idea is that each playthrough of the game gives a unique experience that has similarities and differences.

How do you feel about the role writers play in the game industry? There’s been some debate over whether they receive the credit they are due.

What’s one other IP you’d love to officially write for?

What is a personal piece of advice you’d give to every aspiring fiction writer out there?

And now, as at the end of all my interviews, I like to let my interviewee ask me and/or my audience a question. So if you have any questions, fire away!

I just sort of randomly came upon the website back in early 2014. I was looking to really spread my wings after volunteering for some time at a site that was struggling. I gave it a whirl, and found I liked it a lot. The editors have always been great. I mean, they’re practically vampires they are online so often (not that they drink blood coffee or anything ;) ).

And really, no matter where I go, I always feel an urge to write one more piece for GameSkinny. This site helped me get my footing and learn a lot of things, and I’m happy to write for it. A lot of places, you find them desperate for writers and often badly run. Here, everyone’s on point and there’s always another improvement around the corner.

For more on John Harper, please be sure to visit his website, which includes links to his podcast and books (some of which, are available for free!).

Elite  Dangerous and Game Novels    A Chat with John Harper   the seed   shallow space   Elite  Dangerous - 35Elite  Dangerous and Game Novels    A Chat with John Harper   the seed   shallow space   Elite  Dangerous - 67